Day 18 or something

I know. I know.  It’s been 12 days since my last confession.

While I do consider myself to still be following the Whole30 (for the most part), I’ve learned some very important things.

#1:  Alcohol makes me feel lethargic, fat and headachey.  My training suffers from alcohol.  That being said, I enjoy a glass of wine with a nice meal.  Thus, I have incorporated 1 to 2 glasses of wine per week back into my plan.  That is 1 or 2, not on the same night, not back to back days, and only if I feel like it.  No beer.  No Beam.  Beam may return after the 30 days, or it may not, beer will not.

#2: Dairy makes me phlegmy and heavy feeling.  Cheese and milk do not provide me with anything I need for my body to run efficiently.  They will not be returning after the 30 days.  Grass-fed butter will.

#3:  I can easily tell when something is made with sugar.  Chili at the ski race, dressing at the Detroit Brewery, if it is sweetened I can tell and it puts me off.  Also, everything is sweeter.  About the sweetest thing I can tolerate now is a prune — they rock, but I can only eat a few, too sweet.

#4:  Legumes make me feel incredibly bloated.  I won’t be adding those back in after the 30 days either.  Peanuts are legumes too, FYI.

I don’t really have anything to say about grains, because (besides beer) I removed all grains nearly a year and a half ago.

It helped to stop keeping track of the days on the blog and to focus on my body’s

C'est moi in the pink hat

reactions, thus my hiatus.  I was also training for the Frosty Freestyle, which took place last Saturday.  In case you missed it on Facebook, I finished 3rd over all and was the winner in 20-29 for the 5k women’s skate and 14th overall for men and women.  My goal is to do the 15k next year, and that is going to mean a lot of serious training in the coming year.

 

My current eating plan with my tweaks will be easy for me to maintain long-term.  I feel better than ever, stronger than ever in training and I’ve finally accomplished something I always wanted — to be able to look at food as a fuel.  I can finally consider a food for its value to my body.  I was skeptical that the Whole30 would “change my life”, but it has.

I hope your efforts to improve yourself are going as well as mine!

PS: the job is going well too 🙂

 

Published in: on January 18, 2011 at 10:26 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://happybeehive.wordpress.com/2011/01/18/day-18-or-something/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just ate a handful of Almond Joy “pieces”. A new discovery I wish I had never made.

  2. Fantastic stuff! I’m working my way up to being ready for a real go at the Whole 30 someday. I bit off more than I could chew (heh!) with the challenge: I need to incorporate more good stuff into my diet before I start taking other stuff out.

    I’m so glad for all these awesome changes and the great news!


Leave a Reply

