Day 2, Bones

Today was very busy, but very productive.  My wonderful brother-in-law, Chris and sister-in-law, Jenny were kind enough to let me take the ham bone from the Christmas ham.  Today I made Primal “Split Pea” soup and it is wonderful!  I can’t recall ever having split pea soup before — the idea of it always kind of turned me off and I’ve recently decided that I’m irritated by peas (mentally).  I was ecstatic to find the Primal “Split Pea” soup recipe (post #8) because it does not have peas (don’t forget to scoop out the marrow from the bone, there isn’t much, but it is worth it!)

Primal "Split Pea" soup

While that was cooking I threw a chuck roast from Bessie (our grass-fed cow) into the crockpot with some carrots.  This roast had a big ‘ole bone through it and she wouldn’t fit in the crockpot, so I had to de-bone her.  I figured I’d turn this into bone day and put the roast bone and some steak bones I’d been saving in the freezer into the oven to roast and then make stock.  I roasted the bones for about 40 minutes in a 375 degree convection oven, then put 12 cups of water in a stock pot with the bones, celery, carrots, a cauliflower stump, apple cider vinegar and some spices and let it cook all day.  Once dinner time rolled around, I used some of the stock to make a gravy for the roast (no flour, of course!) and it was delicious!  If you’d like to read more about the benefits of making your own stock and some instructions, go here.

Other than that, I did laundry, ironed work clothes for tomorrow (1st day of the new job!), prepped the coffee and made lunches.  I’m finally settled down with a cup of my favorite tea and hoping to hit the sack early tonight.  I want to be fresh and on my game to meet my new co-workers.  I hope everyone has a great Monday and I’ll report back tomorrow night!

Fuel: coffee, nitrate-free bacon, egg, pepper, ham, cauliflower, green beans, celery, carrots, onions, salt, marrow, beef chuck roast, arrowroot, beef stock, blueberries, pecans, tea

Play: None — didn’t have time!

Published in: on January 2, 2011 at 8:06 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://happybeehive.wordpress.com/2011/01/02/day-2-bones/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. That all sounds so fabulous! I can’t wait until I actually get to the store so I can start making *your* mouth water! We got sidetracked visiting folks in Salem and didn’t make it to the store. Tomorrow! At least I have a tasty veggie casserole leftover (throw in whatever you’ve got that needs to be used in a baking dish with some favorite seasonings and olive oil) that will be the base of a good breakfast with some eggs and turkey bacon for tomorrow.

    Here’s to a fabulous Monday and first day of your new job! I hope you have a great day and make a smashing entrance! Best wishes for day 3 of Whole 30! Get that “play” time in. =)


Leave a Reply

