Merry Christmas Eve Eve!

I have this memory from childhood, skating with my childhood best friend, Melissa, at the Skowhegan Fairgrounds Ice rink.  It was December 23rd and we had an epiphany.  It was Christmas Eve Eve, which means tomorrow is Christmas Eve!!  We had the epiphany like it had snuck up on us, but in those days time seemed to drag.  Christmas Eve night was the longest night of the year and took forever to arrive.  These days, time slips by faster and faster and I can’t believe it is Christmas Eve Eve once again.  And now that I think about how long ago that was (sometime between 15 and 20 years ago), I feel old.  That isn’t how you are supposed to feel at Christmas!  But alas, times have changed.  Instead of going to the skating rink with my best friend today, I’ll be headed to the gym for my last gym workout of the week (it is closed tomorrow, Saturday and Sunday), then to Costco and the grocery store to beat the last-minute Christmas food shopping rush.  Then I’ll clean the bathtub.  Woooohoooo!!  I’m full of Christmas Eve Eve fun plans today!  Oh well, that is what it means to be an adult, I suppose.  I hope my old buddy Melissa is doing something more fun on this Christmas Eve Eve.

For many of you, this is your last work day of the year, for some it is just the last day of the week.  Either way, I know you are all soooo ready to get out of there and completely not interested in doing any work whatsoever today.  With that in mind, I am taking a cue from fellow blogger BarbeyGirl over at In the Night Life and will now share with you 31 things you may not know about me:

1.  One of my most favorite subjects is the monarchy.  I’m not talking modern monarchy, although I am looking forward in earnest to the impending Will and Kate wedding.  I’m talking Plantagenents, Yorks, Lancasters and Tudors.

2.  One of my ancestors is Mary Boleyn.  Yep, Anne’s sister.  I am a descendent of her daughter, Catherine, who many historians believe was an illegitimate child of Henry VIII.  That may explain my obsession with the British monarchy…

3.  I have many favorite movies, but if I had to pick just one it would be “A League of Their Own”.  I always feel inspired after watching it.  My favorite Christmas movie is “Christmas Vacation”.

4.  I have been working on knitting a blanket for my mom for 2 years now.  It will be finished in 2011.  It has taken wayyyy longer than it should have, especially since I’ve been unemployed for 10 months of that (not all at once though).

5.  I have an orange belt in kickboxing.

6.  As a result of #5, I can break your arm and kick through a block of wood.

7.  Paris is my favorite city on the planet.  Whenever I’m there, I feel like I’m home.  Past life maybe?  My husband feels the same way.

8.  I used to HATE doughnuts when I was a kid.  Now I love them, but don’t eat them.

9.  I lived in Japan for 6 months for my husband’s work.  I’m sure many of you know this, but, oh well.

10.  I don’t like talking on the phone and much prefer to text.

11.  Things irritate me very easily.  I am working on this.

12.  I am a grammar/spelling freak.  I’m not saying I am always correct, but I nitpick when other people use improper grammar/spelling.  My husband hates this.

13.  He thinks I missed my calling as an English teacher.  He also thinks I could be a chef, but it turns out that culinary school is a little too expensive.

14.  I used to spend money like it grew on trees.  Now I have to be wrestled for every dollar I part with.

15.  The longest I have worked at any job since graduating college is a year and a half.  I get bored.

16.  I hate when people talk about politics.  Most of the time they have no idea what they are talking about and it always leads to disagreements.

17.  I hate when people try to push religion on me.  I also hate when people talk excessively about their religion and bring it up in every conversation.  You are entitled to believe whatever you want, I just don’t want to hear about it every time I talk to you.

18.  I also can’t stand people who always talk about their children.  Do you have a life besides them?  Maybe this is because I don’t have any and maybe I will be just like them if I have children someday.  Sherri, this is not about you 😉

19.  It makes me very angry when people are consistently late.  If you are going to be somewhere, be there within 5 minutes of when you said you would.  Don’t waste my time.

20.  I’m a registered Republican voter.

21.  Even though I hate political talk, I’m going to do it right now.  I think this country has fallen far from what our Founding Fathers intended.  Times change, but the ideals are still applicable.  They are probably rolling in their graves.  Don’t tread on me!

22.  I make my own laundry detergent and it rocks.

23.  I wish I owned less stuff.  I am going to work hard on accomplishing that in 2011.

24.  I used to be a complete slob.  Now clutter stresses me out.

25.  I feed my cats no-grain cat food.  They eat like I do and the change in their behavior and coats has been remarkable.

26.  Last month, we bought 1/4 grass-fed beef.

27.  I had three majors in college: International Business Management, Marketing and Management.  I also had a minor in Spanish, among other things.

28.  I met Maurice Gibb and Robin Gibb of the Bee Gees.

29.  I used to be Vice President of the Bee Gees Fan Club for people under 21.

30.  I ate chicken testicles in Japan.

31.  I was a vegetarian for one year.  I gained weight and felt very low on energy, even though I was very careful about my nutrient balances.  I need meat.

Hope you enjoyed learning some things you didn’t know about me.  If I don’t manage to blog again in the next two days, have a very Merry Christmas.

Merry Christmas Eve Eve!

Published in: on December 23, 2010 at 10:16 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://happybeehive.wordpress.com/2010/12/23/merry-christmas-eve-eve/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. #10-13. Are you ME? 😉

    Merry Christmas to you!

  2. You must be getting old because your memory is fading. You loved glazed donuts when you were little. The ones they made in Bradley were about 8″ in diameter and we stopped and got them when your Aunt Joyce got picked up to babysit you. You gnawed off all the outside of the donut and often left a ring of just the inside. I bet your Mom has a picture. I think that’s where you got your cheeks.


Leave a Reply

