Daily Roundup

This is actually for yesterday, but I was too tired to post before bed last night.

Productivity:

  • On the needles – finished the last pot holder in Nonie’s Christmas order.
  • Planned meals for the week and went grocery shopping

Nutrition:

  • 4 strips of nitrate-free bacon
  • coffee
  • salad with chicken and guacamole
  • strawberries with primal whipped cream
  • Simply Bliss Mint Chip coconut ice cream
  • Honey Hoisin pork tenderloin with mashed cauliflower, red wine
  • egg nog (yeah, this isn’t great but, ’tis the season!)

Budget:

  • Stayed under budget in total for Costco and Holiday Market.  I admittedly bought some things that were not necessary – the little Christmas pine tree, coconut ice cream, egg nog – but still ok because still under budget.
  • Stayed in and watched “Christmas Vacation” so didn’t spend money out.

Tip:

  • To clean stainless steel appliances, cut one lemon in half and sprinkle with salt.  Scrub the appliances with the lemon and they will be clean and sparkling.  As an added bonus, your kitchen will smell lemony fresh!
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://happybeehive.wordpress.com/2010/11/20/daily-roundup-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. For a follow up tip, you can use borax and washing soda for nearly everything in your home and kitchen: a 1:1 ratio for dishwasher powder (2 tsp. of the mix per load of dishes); 1 cup borax, 1 cup w. soda, and 1 bar of soap grated finely (Ivory, Fels Naptha, etc) mixed up for laundry detergent and use 1-2 tbs. per load of laundry. I use a paste of the 1:1 dishwasher powder to polish my stainless steel pots and pans and to polish the granite countertop. The reference to the stainless steel appliances reminded me of this. Have you tried this? I’ve been using this stuff since we moved to our new place in July and I’m super happy with the savings and cleaning results.

    One box of borax is roughly $4 and so is a box of washing soda. I made a double batch of the laundry detergent and a double of the dishwasher powder when we moved in and am just now thinking it’s about time to make more.

    • Jen!! You beat me to posting a laundry detergent tip — I use the same mixture, but I use Kirk’s Castille Soap because Ivory still has questionable chemicals in it. I’ll have to give your dishwasher detergent and stainless steel polish a try. Thanks for the tips! 🙂

  2. I used Ivory this time simply because it was given to me and in my supplies. I decided to just use it instead of tossing it. Next time I’ll be using something different. I also wanted to mention that the 1:1 mix, dissolved in water, sprays easily and makes a fantastic shower/tub cleaner, too. =)

  3. […] tips on saving money and the planet by using different products to wash and condition hair, on cleaning stainless steel appliances, and on using what you have and planning effectively. Give her blog a look over. It’s fairly […]

  4. To help make up for “stealing” your tip, I just wrote a post in which I linked to you like five times. I have a fair number of readers so hopefully that helps boost your traffic. =)

  5. […] tips on saving money and the planet by using different products to wash and condition hair, on cleaning stainless steel appliances, and on using what you have and planning effectively. Give her blog a look over. It’s fairly […]


Leave a Reply

